chrono about
The Nina Simone Database

The Best of
Additional discography

Philips 822 846-2 (1990 US)

See all releases of this album.
Tracks sorted by number (sort by session or by title)
 1 [2:31] I Loves You Porgy   George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward

 2 [4:52] Mississippi Goddam   Nina Simone standard studio version

 3 [3:02] The Other Woman   Jessie Mae Robinson bonus track

 4 [10:19] Sinnerman   Traditional arr. Nina Simone

 5 [3:36] Ne Me Quitte Pas   Jacques Brel bonus track

 6 [2:36] See-Line Woman   George Bass

 7 [2:34] I Put a Spell on You   Screamin' Jay Hawkins, Slotkin sax solo by Jerome Richardson

 8 [2:37] Break Down and Let It All Out   Van McCoy with Orace Hott orchestra

 9 [4:24] Four Women   Nina Simone

 10 [6:57] Wild Is the Wind   Dimitri Tiomkin, Ned Washington

 11 [6:39] Pirate Jenny   Bertolt Brecht, Kurt Weill piano played by Atkinson

 12 [2:44] Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood   Bennie Benjamin, Gloria Caldwell, Sol Marcus

Liner notes
Nina Simone recorded for Philips from 1964-1966. During this period she recorded seven albums. On these albums she introduced some of her best known repertoire and also did new versions of Simone classics which she recorded earlier for other labels. This "Best Of" compact disc contains ten songs that made up the original U.S. LP release of this collection, plus the additional tracks "Ne Me Quitte Pas" and "The Other Woman", both songs which are closely associated with Nina.
The Best of Nina Simone - Nina Simone